Thursday, November 11, 2010

The Innovative Educator Discusses How to Go from Banning to Embracing Cell Phones Live! on Classroom 2.0 - Saturday, November 13th

Listen to this article. Powered by
The Classroom 2.0 team powered by Kim Caise, Lorna Costantini, Peggy George, Steve Hargadon will be joined by Lisa Nielsen and Wiillyn Webb as they share a progressive, five-step plan for harnessing the power of cell phones for education.

Nielsen and Webb will take listeners through a progression of each step, provide examples of use of cells in each step and share stories of teachers and themselves doing this work.

Steps include:
  1. Teacher Use of Cell Phones for Professional Purposes
    • How Lisa got in trouble for helping teachers harness the power of cells
  2. Teacher Models Appropriate Use for Learning
    • How Willyn often takes out her phone to take pictures of the board to send to absent students and student review.
  3. Strengthen the Home-School Connection
    • How real principals and teachers are Tweeting to provide parents and families with a window into what is happening in the classroom.
  4. Students Use Cell Phones for Homework
    • How teachers are using cell phones as free student response systems to capture students throughts, ideas, and prior knowledge.
  5. Students Use Cell Phones for Classwork
    • How to harness the power of cell phones in class to connect your class to the world by texting an expert, using Google SMS to learn about other places, or inviting students around the world to text photos of what’s outside their windows to your Flickr slide show.

The session takes place on Saturday, November 13th at 9:00am Pacific/ 10:00am Mountain/ 11:00am Central/ 12:00pm Eastern. The link to the session is at . You can visit the Classroom 2.0 Live website to learn about past, current, and future events at We look forward to chatting with you soon!

Lisa Nielsen and Willyn Webb begin_of_the_skype_highlighting end_of_the_skype_highlighting are co-authors of Teaching Generation Text (Fall 2010 release). Webb and Nielsen are prolific and well-respected experts in the field of education and innovation with more than 20 years of combined experience working to support students, teachers, leaders, and parents. As frequent conference presenters, keynote speakers, and published authors, Nielsen and Webb are often the go-to persons when the media wants to know what works in educating today’s students.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...